Review: V.E. Schwab – The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

After a long, long wait, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is finally out today! I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to read the book early, and I wanted to share my 5 star review of this very special book that’s already become so dear to my heart.


Synopsis

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue


Review

This is a book to take your time with. I read it fairly slowly just so I could really savour it, and I had an amazing time. The writing is beyond stunning, and having read almost all of V.E. Schwab’s books, it’s amazing to see how she still gets better with every single one (even though she was always an amazing writer). This book is so different than anything I’ve read from her before, but it still really feels like a V.E. Schwab book.

In terms of comparisons, I think this is a perfect read for fans of Ninth House and The Starless Sea, which were two of my favourite reads of 2019. I feel like the comparison to The Time Traveler’s Wife also really holds up. This one will for sure be one of my favourites of 2020.

I do feel the need to point out that this really is a very slow book, though. I personally really loved it, but I also think a lot of people might not find it fast-paced enough and they might miss some action. So please be aware of that before you go in.

V.E. Schwab has a way of writing characters that means she almost writes them too well. I felt the same way when reading Our Dark Duet: sometimes, characters were introduced that you immediately fell for, and you would hope and hope that they’d be recurring characters in the book, because they spoke to you so much or immediately stole your heart, but sometimes they would just have a very small role in the book.

Overall though, I really loved Addie, and I really loved Henry, and I just felt so invested in this book that I wanted to live in it. I have a feeling this might just become on of my favourite books of all time.


Have you read this book? Are you planning to?

Advertisement

3 thoughts on “Review: V.E. Schwab – The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Add yours

  1. Awesome review!! I’ve been reading so many good things about this book and can’t wait to pick it up soon 🙂 it’s interesting that the genre is adult because it seems like a very YA premise to me!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: