Review: Talia Hibbert – Get A Life, Chloe Brown

Is this the year I fall in love with adult romance? This has never been the genre for me, but I have been reading quite a few adult romances this year and really enjoying them! The last one I read was Get a Life, Chloe Brown, which was my first book by Talia Hibbert, and I really want to read more from her now.

I received a free audiobook through Libro.fm, as part of their influencer program. I couldn’t be more excited to be accepted for this program, as I’m a big fan of audiobooks and this means I get to listen to a selection of audiobooks to review every month! Libro.fm is an audiobook service that makes it possible for readers to buy audiobooks and support physical bookstores, and their service is available worldwide (although their membership is limited to the US).

Goodreads Synopsis

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.
But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1)


This was just delightful. So witty, absolutely hilarious, and really heartwarming as well. It also packs a real emotional punch as both main characters have their own struggles to deal with.

These are both people who have been hurt before, and they each have their issues they have to work through. That means it’s hard for them to trust each other and this causes problems, and I really appreciated the way this was handled.

“You are a woman who, in a life filled with pain, came here to ask about love.”

I especially loved the way Chloe’s chronic illness was represented. As an autistic person, I couldn’t relate to that exactly, but I could relate to the way being disabled interferes with your life and can make you distrust yourself. And at the same time, I gained a better understanding of what it means to live with a chronic illness.

I have to admit I didn’t quite enjoy the audiobook, because the narrator got on my nerves, because her inflection and the way she put emphasis on certain parts of the sentences felt off to me, which made me enjoy the book less. Because of that, I decided to continue in my physical copy and this worked a lot better for me.


Do you like to read romance? Do you have any recommendations for me?

If you order through the link in this post, I’ll make a small commission at no extra cost to you. This helps me review more books and host more giveaways, so I’d be very grateful if you used it!

5 thoughts on “Review: Talia Hibbert – Get A Life, Chloe Brown

Add yours

  1. I’m currently reading GALCB and utterly adoring it! I love Talia’s humor so much. For continuing Talia, night I recommend A Girl Like Her? OV autism rep and Ruth is one of my favorite heroines.

    If you’re open to erotica/erotic romance, I highly recommend Katrina Jackson! From Scratch is m/m/f novella set in small town and m/m two are friends to lovers. I love everything she writes, but that particular book is special cuz it was my introduction to her works lol.

    Another adult romance series I’ve personally loved is Forbidden Hearts by Alisha Rai. The second book is my favorite (Jackson is the softest!! And Sadia is a bi Muslim) but three books are connected by family secrets.

    Alyssa Cole’s Reluctant Royals series is really good if you don’t mind modern-day royalty.

    For paranormal adult romance, Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series is phenomenal and the way overarching story line is executed gives me chills, it’s so wonderful!

    I found, personally, I’ve liked adult romances more as I’ve branched out from allocishet white women authors and looked for like authors of color and OwnVoices rep. They feel like they add something that makes the reading experience so much more fulfilling, at least in my mind…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you’re liking it! And wow, own voices autism rep?! I need to read that book now! I think it’s on my audiobook service, so I’ll hopefully get to it soon 🙂

      I’m not too great reading erotica because I’m pretty sex repulsed – I’ve enjoyed the romance novels I have read despite the sex scenes, so I probably won’t enjoy something that’s too heavy on those

      I think I also came across another book by Alisha Rai which interested me as well, so I’ll look that one up!!

      And I actually love reading about royalty, Red, White and Royal Blue was my favourite read of the year and I’ve been looking for more! I think that series is also on my audiobook service and it sounds really fun!

      I haven’t heard of the Psy-Changeling series before, but I have enjoyed paranormal romance before, so I’ll read some reviews and see if I think I’ll like it!

      I definitely agree, the ones I’ve read so far have really been more enjoyable because of the diversity! Thank you so much for all the recs!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s fantastic! Definitely one of my favorite of Talia’s books. Hope you’ll enjoy it when you get to it~

        100% valid and understandable! And good to know when giving recs~ 🙂

        Whoop! Hopefully you’ll enjoy them~ I feel I’ve heard good things about the audio narration.

        My biggest “warning” with psy-changeling series is it is very straight/heteronormative so I find I have to be in the right mood to continue the series, but it definitely improves story-wise as it goes along.

        You’re very welcome~ hope you’ll find something you enjoy 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: