Day 6 of #PrideLibrary19: 5 Anticipated LGBTQ+ Releases

Okay, so. I could keep up appearances, but I won’t even try. My inspiration for this prompt comes directly from seeing so many US bookworms attending BEA/Book Con this past week. Being an international blogger, I found myself green with envy seeing some of the books people already get to read!! (But of course, I’m mostly very excited for the people who do get to read those books already! Fingers crossed some of them will be available on Netgalley at some point.) Anyway, it seemed perfectly fitting to talk about 5 books I’m really looking forward to, as today’s prompt of #PrideLibrary19 is green books!


Dean Atta – The Black Flamingo

Fiercely told, this is a timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about the journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.

A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen – then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers – to show ourselves to the world in bold colour.

*I masquerade in makeup and feathers and I am applauded.*

The Black Flamingo

Coming out in August, The Black Flamingo is a verse novel about a biracial gay teenager becoming a drag artist. Yes, you read that right. I generally really love verse novels, and this one sounds especially exciting!


Julian Winters – How to Be Remy Cameron

Everyone on campus knows Remy Cameron. He’s the out-and-gay, super-likable guy that people admire for his confidence. The only person who may not know Remy that well is Remy himself. So when he is assigned to write an essay describing himself, he goes on a journey to reconcile the labels that people have attached to him, and get to know the real Remy Cameron.

How to Be Remy Cameron

Quite honestly, I don’t need to know a lot about this book in advance before reading it. I loved Julian Winters’ debut Running With Lions (might actually reread it this month!), so I’m just very excited to read his next novel! How to Be Remy Cameron comes out in September, and I’m really keeping my fingers crossed that it’ll pop up on Netgalley before then.


Dahlia Adler (ed.) – His Hideous Heart

Thirteen of YA’s most celebrated names reimagine Edgar Allan Poe’s most surprising, unsettling, and popular tales for a new generation.

Edgar Allan Poe may be a hundred and fifty years beyond this world, but the themes of his beloved works have much in common with modern young adult fiction. Whether the stories are familiar to readers or discovered for the first time, readers will revel in Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tales, and how they’ve been brought to life in 13 unique and unforgettable ways.

Contributors include Kendare Blake (reimagining “Metzengerstein”), Rin Chupeco (“The Murders in the Rue Morge”), Lamar Giles (“The Oval Portrait”), Tessa Gratton (“Annabel Lee”), Tiffany D. Jackson (“The Cask of Amontillado”), Stephanie Kuehn (“The Tell-Tale Heart”), Emily Lloyd-Jones (“The Purloined Letter”), Hillary Monahan (“The Masque of the Red Death”), Marieke Nijkamp (“Hop-Frog”), Caleb Roehrig (“The Pit and the Pendulum”), and Fran Wilde (“The Fall of the House of Usher”).

His Hideous Heart

I absolutely love to read anthologies every once in a while, and His Hideous Heart sounds especially awesome. Poe’s tales reimagined? That sounds freaking fantastic. I just want to read Caleb Roehrig’s story now, tbh, because I absolutely love his books! But I’m also seeing quite a few authors whose books I want to read as well!!


Camryn Garrett – Full Disclosure

In a community that isn’t always understanding, an HIV-positive teen must navigate fear, disclosure, and radical self-acceptance when she falls in love–and lust–for the first time. Powerful and uplifting, Full Disclosure will speak to fans of Angie Thomas and Nicola Yoon.

Simone Garcia-Hampton is starting over at a new school, and this time things will be different. She’s making real friends, making a name for herself as student director of Rent, and making a play for Miles, the guy who makes her melt every time he walks into a room. The last thing she wants is for word to get out that she’s HIV-positive, because last time . . . well, last time things got ugly.

Keeping her viral load under control is easy, but keeping her diagnosis under wraps is not so simple. As Simone and Miles start going out for real–shy kisses escalating into much more–she feels an uneasiness that goes beyond butterflies. She knows she has to tell him that she’s positive, especially if sex is a possibility, but she’s terrified of how he’ll react! And then she finds an anonymous note in her locker: I know you have HIV. You have until Thanksgiving to stop hanging out with Miles. Or everyone else will know too.

Simone’s first instinct is to protect her secret at all costs, but as she gains a deeper understanding of the prejudice and fear in her community, she begins to wonder if the only way to rise above is to face the haters head-on…

Full Disclosure

I don’t think I’ve ever read anything quite like Full Disclosure, at least not in YA. And the books I do remember have not exactly been too positive, to put it mildly. This sounds like is will be a very important read, since the topic of HIV is still so stigmatized. I guess now we wait until October?


Lisa Jenn Bigelow – Hazel’s Theory of Evolution

“Just because you don’t understand it doesn’t make it illogical.”

Hazel knows all about life on Earth. She could tell you anything from what earthworms eat to how fast a turkey can run. That’s because when she’s not hanging out with her best friend, Becca, or helping care for the goats on her family’s farm, she loves reading through dusty old encyclopedias. But even Hazel doesn’t have answers for the questions awaiting her as she enters eighth grade.

Due to redistricting, she has to attend a new school where she worries no one will understand her. And at home things get worse when she discovers one of her moms is pregnant. Hazel can’t wait to be a big sister, but her mom has already miscarried twice. Hazel fears it might happen again.

As Hazel struggles through the next few months, she’ll grow to realize that if the answers to life’s most important questions can’t be found in a book, she’ll have to find them within herself.

Hazel's Theory of Evolution

Just yesterday, I talked about Drum Roll, Please in my post about summer reads! And I actually have another book by Lisa Jenn Bigelow on my TBR for this month: Starting From Here, which I think is YA instead of middlegrade. But I’m especially excited about her next middlegrade novel, Hazel’s Theory of Evolution, which comes out in October and centers an asexual (or aspec, I’m not exactly sure) main character!!


There’s definitely more amazing titles being released later this year, but these are my most anticipated ones for now! Which LGBTQ+ release(s) are you looking forward to the most?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Day 6 of #PrideLibrary19: 5 Anticipated LGBTQ+ Releases

Add yours

  1. All of these sound so interesting! I hadn’t heard of The Black Flamingo before and now I’m definitely interested, especially since I haven’t read many books centering around drag. I was also really interested in Julian Winters’ debut, Running with Lions last year, but I somehow never got to it which is such a shame. Remy Cameron sounds amazing though & I can’t wait to read it! His Hideous Heart also sounds amazing because the authors featured are authors I’ve enjoyed before/I have high expectations for. I actually read the summary for Rin Chupeco’s story and i got so interested! It’s set in Manila Bay, a place I pass by regularly here in the Philippines. I had seen the cover of Full Disclosure going around but had never bothered to read the synopsis. Now I realize that that was such a mistake since it seems like such an important story and I’ve never read something with HIV elements before! And Hazel’s Theory of Evolution looks and sounds super cute.

    Ah, as an international blogger, I definitely relate to the severe fomo. Hoping it gets better though!

    Like

    1. Don’t they? I really can’t wait to read them!! And I’ve also wanted to read Rin Chupeco’s books for a long time now, I should really pick them up soon! And that’s so cool, that you actually know the setting in real life – that always makes a story extra special.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: